World Heritage Areas, National Parks and Reserves

The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area covers 1.58 million hectares – almost a quarter of the total area of Tasmania. It is well-known for its diverse and beautiful landscapes, glaciated scenery, pristine coastlines, ancient forests and wide range of native plants and animals and tangible  and  intangible Tasmanian Aboriginal cultural values reflecting thousands of years of living culture.

There are also 19 national parks and more than 800 reserves that encompass a diversity of unspoiled habitats and ecosystems which offer refuge to unique and often ancient, plants and animals found nowhere else on Earth.

Fact sheets are available for parks sand reserves on the Parks and Wildlife Service website.

The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area Management Plan Project is available from the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment website.

Ben Lomond Cradle Mountain Douglas Apsley Franklin-Gordon WIld Rivers
Freycinet Hartz Mountain Kent Group Lake St Clair
Maria Island Mole Creek Mt Field Mt William
Narawntapu Rocky Cape South Bruny

Southwest National Park


Tasman National Park

Walls of Jerusalem


There are some 800 reserves different reserves of which the following are just a few: